Banner image

Press Releases

Mis en ligne 22-08-16

Awards of the 32nd First Peoples’ Festival

Best Cinematography
El Gran Movimiento, Kiro Russo, Bolivia 2021
Special Mention : Returning Home, Sean Stiller, Canada 2021

Best International Short Film
Award : Flores de la llanura, Mariana X. Rivera, Mexico 2021
Special Mention: Háldi, Ann Holmgren, Norway 2021

Best Canadian short film – Radio-Canada Espaces autochtones Award (works by Aboriginal filmmakers
located in Canada) with a Grant of 2500 $
Award : Chanson de l’Arctique Germaine, Arnattaujuq, Neil Christopher, Louise Flaherty, Canada 2021
Special Mention : Imalirijit, Vincent L’Hérault, Tim Anaviapik Soucie, Canada – Québec 2022

Best Documentary
Apenas el sol (Nothing but the Sun), Arami Ullon, Paraguay 2021

Main Film international Award for emergent talent
The Grand Prize of 1000 $ goes to Spirit Emulsion by Siku Allooloo, Canada
A special Mention with a 500 $ Grant is offered to Liremu Barana by Elvis Caj, Guatemala/Norway

APTN Award dedicated to an Indigenous filmmaker who has distinguished himself/herself during the
APTN Award : Wildhood, Bretten Hannam, Canada
Special Mention: Angakusajaujuq : the Shaman Apprentice, Zacharias Kunuk, Canada
Special Mention: Meneath : The Hidden Island of Ethics, Terril Lee Calder, Canada

Rigoberta Menchú Award/ Communities
Grand Prize : Powerlands, Ivey Camille Manybeads Tso, Canada / USA
2nd prix : Tystnaden i Sápmi, Liselotte Wajstedt, Norway

Teueikan Award/ Création
Grand Prize : Utama, Alejandro Loayza Grisi, Bolivia 2022
2nd Prize : El Gran Movimiento, Kiro Russo, Bolivia 2021

Lifetime Achievement Award : Vincent Carelli
Whose most recent film Adeus, Capitão was screened during the festival.

Become a







a donation

Send a donation
Contact Us