Festival prizes

Prix du festival

The famous statuettes of the international Indigenous film and video festival are the work of one of the greatest Inuit sculptors,
Mattiusi Iyaituk. Cast from an original soapstone, they represent a hawk. They have been crafted exclusively for the Montréal First Peoples Festival.

The «Mattiusis» go with the three main annual awards of the festival:

  • First Rigoberta Menchu Award (social prize)
  • First Teueikan Award (artistic prize)
  • APTN Award (to an indigenous filmmaker who had a special accomplishment during the previous year)

The other prizes are:

  • Second Teueikan and Rigoberta Menchu  Awards
  • Best Documentary Award of the journal Séquences
  • Young Hope Mainfilm Award
  • Prizes for Best Animated Film, Best Short Film, Best Cinematography

APTN Award Nominees

The APTN award recognizes the accomplishment of an Indigenous filmmaker in Canada in the past year.

Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, director of Inuk en colère
Janine Windolph, co-director of The Land of Rock and Gold
Zacharias Kunuk, director of Maliglutit (The Searchers)
Caroline Monnet, writer and director, selected for the residency of Cinéfondation (Festival de Cannes) for the writing and direction of her film project  Bootlegger.

2017 Montreal First Peoples Festival Jury

Jury members (Création-Teueikan award, Communautés-Rigoberta Menchu Tum award, best short film, best animation)

Émilie Monnet
Courtney Montour
Catherine Van Der Donckt
Carlos Alberto Tamup Canil
Natasha Kanapé Fontaine
Jean Morisset

Best documentary (Séquences award) :
Luc Chaput of revue Séquences

Prix de la Relève :
Jury MainFilm

Award ceremony

Monday August 7 – 5:00 pm
UQAM Salle Jean-Claude-Lauzon
1564, rue Saint-Denis, Montréal