Awards of the Montreal International First Peoples Festival

Today Land InSights unveiled the winners of the film awards of the Montreal International First Peoples Festival at an online event.

Teueikan Award

Grand Prize :  Fukry by Blackhorse Lowe

2nd Prize : Retablo by Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio L.

Rigoberta Menchú Prize

Grand Prize : Ophir, by Alexandre Berman and Olivier Pollet

2nd Prize : Eating Up Easter by Sergio Mata'u Rapu

Honourable mention : Sembradoras de vida d'Alvaro and Diego Sarmiento.

APTN Award : nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up by Tasha Hubbard

Best documentary Prize :  Cuando cierro los ojos by Michelle Ibaven and Sergio Blanco
Honorable mention : Sing by Olga Korotkaya

Radio-Canada / Espaces autochtones Award : Now is the Time, by Christopher Auchter

Main Film International Emerging Talent Award : Christophe Auchter for Now is the Time
Special mention : Tony Briggs for Elders

Best International Short Film Award : El silencio del río by Francesca Canepa

Prize for Best Animated Film : Kapaemahu, by Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu.

Best Cinematography Award : Joshua Gil and Mateo Guzman for Sanctorum.


Let's recall that the 2020 international jury was composed of eight people:

Deborah Walker-Morrisson, Māorie from Aotearoa (New Zealand);
Amalia Cordova, specialist in indigenous cinema of the Americas (USA);
Maya Pérez Menchú of the Rigoberta-Menchú Foundation (Guatemala);
Roxanne Whitebean, Mohawk filmmaker (Kahnawake);
Lesvia Vela, representative of the Rigoberta-Menchú Foundation in Canada; 
Craig Commanda, Anicinape artist (Canada);
Sophie-Claude Miller, Cree broadcaster  (Canada) ; 
Luc Chaput, eminent film critic (Canada).

A program of online screenings of the 2020 selection will be available in 2021.