Festival prizes

Prix du festival

The famous statuettes of the international Indigenous film and video festival are the work of one of the greatest Inuit sculptors, Mattiusi Iyaituk. Cast from an original soapstone, they represent a hawk. They have been crafted exclusively for the Montréal First Peoples Festival.

The «Mattiusis» go with the three main annual awards of the festival:

  • First Rigoberta Menchu Award (social prize)
  • First Teueikan Award (artistic prize)
  • APTN Award (to an indigenous filmmaker who had a special accomplishment during the previous year)

The other prizes are:

  • Second Teueikan and Rigoberta Menchu Awards
  • Best Documentary Award of the journal Séquences
  • Best Canadian Short Film Award presented by Radio-Canada ($1000 prize)
  • Main Film Emerging Filmmaker Award ($500 prize)
  • Prizes for Best Animated Film, Best International Short Film, Best Cinematography

APTN Award Nominees

The APTN award recognizes the accomplishment of an Indigenous filmmaker in Canada in the past year.

Gwaai Edenshaw and Helen Haig-Brown for Sgaawaay K’uuna (Edge of the Knife)
Darlene Naponse for Falls Around Her
Amanda Strong for Biidaaban (The Dawn Comes)
Lucy Tulugarjuk for Tia et Piujuq

2019 Montréal First Peoples Festival Jury

Jury members (Création-Teueikan award, Communautés-Rigoberta Menchu Tum award, best short film, best animated film)

Denis Bellemare
Nicolas Ottawa
Danielle Rochette
Maïtée Saganash
Carlos Tamup
Lesvia Vela

Best documentary (Prix Séquences) :
Luc Chaput from the revue Séquences

Prix de la Relève :
Jury MainFilm