Films

  • Accueil
  • Programmation

Pinaskin

Friday, August 12 - 8:30 pm
Place des Festivals

Facebook Event

Reginald Echaquan is one of the founding members of Pinaskin, which means “falling leaves”. As the leaves were falling, the band came together. There was Steve Flamand, Reginald Echaquan and Bruno Ottawa. Guitarists Gaston Moar and René Quitish played with the band for a few years. Réginald moved away from music to focus on teaching and has been performing acoustically.

The songs penned by artists and bands from the Atikamekw Nation (Opitciwan, Wemotaci and Manawan) are about the land, the ancestors, the traditional lifestyle, the resources, the relations between the members’ of one’s family or community. Some sing about friendship, their community or life in general.

A Swiss newspaper wrote, in September 2000, “Québec Indians are in town, singing about their roots” and “Pinaskin is taking its first steps in Europe; 4 Atikamekw sing about the Indigenous realities in Canada.”

The young musicians are particularly interested in the land, preserving Atikamekw traditions, the forest we’re pillaging until it dies, the overuse of natural resources, intergenerational relations, cultural transmission and the importance of oral history, the identity, multilingual teachings, and much more.

Music is part of this oral history, “They are the songs of a people who wants to be in constant harmony with Nature.”

 

Trailer / Image

Become a

Volunteer

Apply

Our

sponsors

See

Make

a donation

Send a donation

Films

  • Accueil
  • Programmation

Pinaskin

Vendredi 12 août - 20 h 30
Place des Festivals

Reginald Echaquan est l’un de membre fondateur du groupe Pinaskin qui se traduit par « chute des feuilles ». Le groupe a vu le jour alors que celles-ci tombaient des arbres. Il y avait Steve Flamand, Reginald Echaquan et Bruno Ottawa. Les guitaristes Gaston Moar et René Quitish ont joué avec le groupe pendant quelques années.  Réginald s’est retiré peu à peu de la musique pour se consacrer à l’enseignement. Il donne depuis quelques années des prestations acoustiques.

Le contenu de chansons des artistes ou groupes de musiciens appartenant à la Nation Atikamekw (Opitciwan, Wemotaci et Manawan) et est en lien avec le territoire, les ancêtres, le mode de vie, les traditions, les ressources et les relations entre les membres d’une famille ou d’une communauté; certains chantent leur amitié, leur communauté, la vie en général.

Un journal suisse écrit à leur sujet, en septembre 2000 : « Indiens du Québec dans la région. Ils chantent leurs racines » et  « le groupe Pinaskin fait ses premiers pas en Europe: quatre Atikamekw qui chantent (et racontent) la condition indienne au Canada…»

Les jeunes musiciens s’intéressaient particulièrement au territoire, à la préservation des traditions atikamekw, à la forêt qu’on rase jusqu’à sa mort, à la surexploitation des ressources naturelles, aux relations intergénérationnelles, à la transmission culturelle et à l’importance de la tradition orale, à l’identité, à l’enseignement multilingue et bien plus encore.

La musique participe à la tradition orale :  « C’est le chant des gens qui veulent être en permanence en harmonie avec la nature ».

 Événement Facebook

Bande annonce

Devenir

bénévole

Soumettre ma candidature

Nos

commanditaires

Voir

Faire

un don

Soumettre mon don